How Many Hockey World Cup India Won? [Expert Guide!]

Spread the love

The Hockey World Cup is a major international hockey tournament that is held every four years.

It was first held in 1947, and India have participated in every tournament since, winning the bronze medal in 1947, 1956, and 2004. Their best performance came in 2016, when the Indian men’s team won the gold medal for the first time.

In total, India have won 10 gold, 17 silver, and 19 bronze medals at the Hockey World Cup. That makes the country the fifth most successful at the tournament, after Australia, England, Canada, and the United States. The next tournament will be held in 2030, and it will be 48 years since the last time the Indian men’s hockey team won the gold medal. Let’s take a trip down memory lane and see how many titles India have won at the Hockey World Cup.

The First Gold Medal: 1947

The tournament was first held in 1947, and India won their first gold medal that year. The Indian team was captained by Amar Singh, and they defeated England 4–2 in the final.

It was a remarkable feat for the Indians, considering that they had lost to England in a friendly match just a few days earlier. However, the Indians had gained experience while practicing for that tournament, and they used that to their advantage.

The Second Gold Medal: 1956

The second gold medal was also won by the Indian men’s hockey team in 1956. Again, the team was led by Amar Singh, who had been a part of the squad that won the first gold medal in 1947. This time, they faced Scotland in the final, and the Scots beat India 2–1. The Indian team lost only one match in the entire tournament, which was against England.

Singh continued to lead the Indian men’s hockey team to success in the 60s and 70s. Not only did they win the gold medal in both the 1964 and 1972 tournaments, but they also took part in the now-legendary ‘Asian Ice Hockey Championships’, winning the gold medal in 1968 and 1972. In all, Singh led the Indian men’s team to four gold medals in six appearances at the Hockey World Cup.

The Third Gold Medal: Indians Winning As Much As They Lose

The third gold medal was yet another historic one for the Indian men’s hockey team. The country won the bronze medal in the 1976 tournament, making it their only medal in the entire competition. It was a very tight contest in the final, with the host nation South Korea winning 2–1. India lost all three of their matches in the tournament, with two of the losses being by a single goal. The Indian men’s team suffered their biggest defeat against defending champions Australia, losing 8–2. The next tournament was cancelled due to the Asian Crisis, and it was 40 years before India found themselves competing in another Hockey World Cup.

The Fourth Gold Medal: 1984

The fourth gold medal went to India in the 1984 tournament, when the country earned their fifth consecutive bronze medal. It was actually their 11th trophy in total, as they had previously won a Soviet Union tournament in 1962.

The Indians won the tournament by defeating England 4–3 in the final. That was enough to secure a place in the 1984 Olympics, where they came semi-finalists. It was the last time the Indian men’s team competed in the tournament, as they were eventually banned from international competition due to the Indian Sports Authority’s (ISI’s) own charity ban.

A Golden Six-Season Run

The 1980s were a golden six-season run for the Indian men’s hockey team. They won the gold medal in the 1986, 1988, 1990, 1992, and 1994 tournaments. That made it seven wins in eight appearances at the tournament, with the only exception being the 1980 tournament, when India were banned from competing. The Indian men’s team had previously only ever won the tournament once.

Not only were they the most successful at the Hockey World Cup during that time period, but they also won the following tournaments:

  • 1986 Tournament, defeating Australia 5–2 in the final
  • 1988 Tournament, beating England 4–3 in the semifinal
  • 1990 Tournament, defeating Canada 4–1 in the final
  • 1992 Tournament, defeating Germany 5–4 in the semifinal
  • 1994 Tournament, defeating Belgium 4–3 in the quarter-final
  • 1998 Tournament, defeating Germany 5–4 in the semifinal
  • 2000 Tournament, defeating Czech Republic 4–3 in the semifinal
  • 2004 Tournament, defeating Netherlands 4–2 in the final

India also took part in the now-legendary ‘Asian Cup’, winning the gold medal in the 1986 and 1990 tournaments. In all, the country won 14 gold medals in 20 appearances at the Hockey World Cup.

A Record-Breaking Fifteenth Bronze Medal

It was a record-breaking fifteenth bronze medal for the Indian men’s hockey team, as they secured a place in the 2006 tournament. It was the 20th tournament appearance for the country, and not a single one of their matches was not decided by a penalty kick. It was a 4–3 win over Netherlands in the tournament final, securing them their sixteenth bronze medal. That was the end of the line for the Indian men’s team, as they were banned from taking part in the next tournament, due to passing dries during an Indian Football League match.

Banned From Taking Part In International Matches Due To Passing Dries

The 2007 tournament was the last one for India, as they were banned from taking part in international matches due to passing dries. This is due to a law that was passed in 2011, after India were excluded from the 2004 tournament, where they had been doubles wiped out by Cuba. The law prohibits players from taking part in any international competition, if they passed dries during a previously-scheduled match.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!